Retired Grove School Principal Dr. Cindy Kalogeropoulos Receives U.S. Department of Education Lifetime Achievement Award

1 min read
Dr. K at the 1992 National Blue Ribbon Schools recognition

Retired Grove Ave. Elementary School Principal Dr. Cindy Kalogeropoulos has been recognized with the prestigious Lifetime Terrel H. Bell Award for Outstanding School Leadership by the U.S. Department of Education. This award is given to only a few principals across the country each year. Dr. K is the only principal in the entire country to ever earn three National Blue Ribbon Schools awards for one school.

Dr. Kalogeropoulos was a longtime principal at Grove, holding the position for 31 years before retiring in June of 2016.

dr-cindy-kalogeropoulos-3During her tenure at Grove, the school earned three National Blue Ribbon Schools recognitions (1992, 2007 and 2016). In the 34-year history of the National Blue Ribbon Schools program, she is the only principal to earn three blue ribbons for one school.

Recipients of this award have transformed their schools. Their vision and collaborative leadership styles have produced outstanding results for all students, regardless of race, language proficiency, or socioeconomic status.

They have shown that – with effective leadership and teaching and a firm conviction – all students can learn.

“The leadership Dr. Kalogeropoulos provided to the Grove Avenue Elementary School community and Barrington 220 School District was exceptional,” says Superintendent of Schools Dr. Brian Harris. “This award is well-deserved and gives appropriate recognition to her outstanding career achievements.”

Dr. Kalogeropoulos will be honored by the U.S. Department of Education on Nov. 7 during a special ceremony in Washington, D.C.

Formed in 1973, Barrington Community Unit School District 220 educates over 9,000 students at one high school, two middle schools (grades 6-8), eight elementary schools, and one early childhood center. District 220 encompasses 72 square miles and covers 12 villages: all of Barrington, Lake Barrington, Tower Lakes; and portions of Barrington Hills, Carpentersville, Deer Park, Fox River Grove, Port Barrington, Hoffman Estates, Inverness, North Barrington, and South Barrington. District 220 is geographically located in 4 counties: Cook, Lake, McHenry, and Kane. To learn more, visit

We Are Barrington 220 from Barrington 220 School District on Vimeo.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Latest from Blog